Syllabus  Biology 441 Vertebrate Embryology  Albert Harris    Spring 2019

MWF 9:05-9:55 Wilson 107

Office: Room 103 Wilson Hall
Office Hours: 10-12 Monday and Wednesday, or at other times by appointment

e-mail: akharris@bio.unc.edu
web sites: http://www. albertkharris.com and http://www.bio.unc.edu/faculty/harris/

office phone 919-966-1230
home 919-493-1572

Teaching assistants: Kayla Goforth and Elizabeth Moore

 

No textbook is required.

Lecture notes, videos, review questions, and other material needed for exams will be posted on this web site throughout the semester.
Please check it frequently for updates.

The Biology 441L lab is NOT required for students taking the lecture course. It is a separate 1-hour course.   
lab syllabus  

exams and grading

  
1) Wed. Jan 9 Mammal Embryology in Contrast with Sea Urchin Embryology
lecture notes
 
2) Friday Jan 11 Subdivision of Vertebrate Embryos into Ectoderm, Mesoderm & Endoderm
lecture notes
 
 
3) Monday Jan 14 Morphogenetic Movements and Shape Formation
lecture notes
 
4) Wednesday Jan 16 Amoeboid locomotion, Electro-osmosis and Fluid-filled Spaces
lecture notes
 
5) Friday Jan 18 Gastrulation and Extra-Embryonic Membranes
lecture notes
 
 
 
Monday Jan 21 ******* Holiday in Honor of Martin Luther King Jr. ********
 
6) Wednesday Jan 23 Embryology of Teleost Fish
lecture notes
 
7) Friday Jan 25 Embryonic Development of Amphibians, Birds, Reptiles & Mammals
lecture notes
 
 
8) Monday Jan 28 More on Regulative vs. Mosaic Development, and Experimental Embryology
lecture notes
 
9) Wednesday Jan 30 This lecture was cancelled.
Friday's class and the exam on Monday will be held as scheduled.
Labortories this week will be also be held as usual.
 
10) Friday Feb 1 Review for first examination, followed by office hours
review questions
These questions are from last year, but we've covered nearly all the same material this year.
Please feel free to ask if you're uncertain about any questions.
 
 
11) Monday Feb 4 First Examination
 
12) Wednesday Feb 6 Mesoderm: Somites and Kidneys
lecture notes
 
13) Friday Feb 8 Ectoderm
lecture notes
 
 
14) Monday Feb 11 How Do Physical Forces Cause the Shapes of Anatomical Structures?
lecture notes
 
15) Wednesday Feb 13 Symmetries of Causes Control Symmetries of Anatomical Shapes
lecture notes
 
16) Friday Feb 15 Breaking Symmetry;
Reaction-Diffusion Systems: Instabilities that Create Geometric Patterns
lecture notes
 
 
17) Monday Feb 18 Chemotaxis, and Embryology of the Eye; Retino-tectal Projections
lecture notes on chemotaxis
lecture notes on eye development

 
18) Wednesday Feb 20 Continuation of retino-tectal connections, discussion of the Watanabe and Kondo paper, and other topics
lecture notes
 
19) Friday Feb 22 Snakes, Gradients, and Heart Development
lecture notes on the heart
 
 
20) Monday Feb 25 Endoderm, and start review for second exam
lecture notes
Optional video: time lapse of salamander development, and some amphibian pictures
(thanks to student Emily Mercer for sharing this link)
 
21) Wednesday Feb 27 Review for Second Examination

Review of origins of tissues and structures
Study Questions
Statement about figures
Lots more study questions;
Figures to identify

 
22) Friday Mar 1 Second Examination
 
 
23) Monday Mar 4 Limb Buds
lecture notes
 
24) Wednesday Mar 6 Regeneration
lecture notes
 
25) Friday Mar 8 Cell Sorting
lecture notes
 
 
 March 11-15 spring break
 
 
26) Monday Mar 18 Liesegang Rings: Geometrical Patterns Formed by Chemical Reactions
lecture notes This will be the topic of the Biol_441L lab this week.
Please read the notes and watch the videos before your lab session.

More on Cell Sorting
lecture notes

 
27) Wednesday Mar 20 Continuing Discussion of Programmed Cell Death
lecture notes, with some added review questions
We then began talking about the immune system; see notes for Friday
 
28) Friday Mar 22 Immunology, Allergies, and Autoimmune Diseases in Relation to Embryology
lecture notes
 
 
29) Monday Mar 25 Immunology, continued
 
30) Wednesday Mar 27 Immunology, continued
 
31) Friday March 29 Immunology, continued
 
 
32) Monday Apr 1 Atherosclerosis, and more on any topics not completely covered so far
 
33) Wednesday Apr 3 Review for Third Examination
 
34) Friday Apr 5 Third Examination
 
 
35) Monday Apr 8 Embryology of Plants
 
36) Wednesday Apr 10 Resting Potentials, Fertilization, and Galvanotaxis
 
36) Friday Apr 12 Metamorphosis
 
 
37) Monday Apr 15 Aging
 
38) Wednesday Apr 17 Cancer as Disruption of Embryological Mechanisms
 
39) Friday Apr 19 ******* Holiday ********
 
 
40) Monday Apr 22 Cancer, continued
 
41) Wednesday Apr 24 Evolutionary Developmental Biology, the so-called "Evo-Devo"
 
42) Friday Apr 26 Review of How Development Works
 
 
  FINAL EXAM: Monday, May 6, 8:00 am

The final exam will be cumulative, covering topics in the entire course.
Review questions will be posted before the exam.